NCM Leadership

Elected members govern the Society for the Neural Control of Movement. These members comprise the Board of Directors who in turn elect Officers that comprise the Executive Committee. The Society’s Bylaws govern how the Board manages the Society. Officers and Board members are elected for three-year terms and may be re-elected to one additional contiguous term. The current Board comprises the following Officers and Directors.

NCM Officers

NCM’s Officers consist of a President and Conference Chair, a Vice-President and Program Chair, a Secretary/Treasurer, and an Academic Development Chair. Our current Officers are as follows.

Image of Kathy Cullen

Kathleen Cullen

President & Conference Chair

Kathleen Cullen is a Professor in the Departments of Biomedical Engineering, Neuroscience, and Otolaryngology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore, Maryland. She is also the director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Hearing and Balance. She currently serves as the President of the Society for the Neural Control of Movement and is the Chair for current and upcoming meetings.

Adrian Haith

Vice-President & Program Chair

Adrian is an Associate Professor in the Department of Neurology at Johns Hopkins University, in Baltimore Maryland.  Adrian currently serves as the Vice President of the Society for the Neural Control of Movement and is the Program Chair for current and upcoming meetings.

Alaa Ahmed


Alaa Ahmed is a Professor of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering at the University of Colorado Boulder. She currently serves as Secretary and Treasurer for the Society for the Neural Control of Movement.


stylized brain image in grey and white

Kazuhiko Seki

Development Officer

Kazuhiko Seki is the director of the Department of Neurophysiology of the National Center of Neurology & Psychology in Japan. He currently serves as the Development Officer for the Society for the Neural Control of Movement, taking the lead on trainee development opportunities, sponsorship, sponsor support, advertising opportunities and scholarship applications.

NCM Committees

Committees are comprise of members of the board as well as members of the Society for the Neural Control of Movement.  If you are interested in getting involved with a committee, please contact us at

Community Conduct Committee

Chair: Jennifer Semrau, University of Delaware
Susan Coltman, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Juan Gallego, Imperial College London
Tamar Makin, University of Cambridge
Rachael Seidler, University of Florida

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Chair: Amanda Therrien, Moss Rehabilitation Research Institute
Claudia Vargas, Brown University
Dan Blustein, Acadia University
Olivia Kim, Princeton University

Social Media Committee

Chair: Juan Gallego, Imperial College London
Joshua Cashaback, University of Delaware
Julie Duque, Universite catholique Louvain
Samuel McDougle, Yale University
Amy Orsborn, University of Washington
Andrew Pruzsynski, Western University
Aaron Wong, Moss Rehabilitation Research Institute

NCM Directors

NCM Directors participate in ongoing Society affairs such as reviewing submitted content, serving as session monitors and promoting the Society and its meetings. Below is a list of our current Directors.

Term: 2022 – 2025

Megan Carey
Champalimaud Center of the Unknown, PRT

Sam McDougle
Yale University, USA

Hans (Hansjörg) Scherberger
German Primate Center, GER

Aaron Wong
Moss Rehabilitation Research Institute, USA

Term: 2023 – 2026

Joshua Cashaback
University of Delaware, USA

Julie Duque
Université catholique Louvain, BEL

Juan Gallego
Imperial College London, GBR

Tarkeshwar Singh
Pennsylvania State University, USA




Term: 2024 – 2027

David Franklin
Technical University of Munich, GER

Neeraj Gandhi
University of Pittsburgh, USA

Katja Kornysheva
University of Birmingham, GBR

Lena Ting
Emory University & Georgia Tech, USA

Nina van Mastrigt – Trainee Board Member (2024 – 2026)
JustusLiebigUniversität Gießen, GER